After being without for two years, Alberta’s Health Minister has announced the creation of a new board to govern Alberta Health Services.

“I’m confident that this group has the firsthand knowledge of healthcare delivery and governance that’s needed to strengthen and stabilize the health system,” said Health Minister Sarah Hoffman.

AHS has been without a board since 2013 after the then-Health Minister Fred Horne fired the entire board after a refusal by its members to turn down millions of dollars in executive bonuses.

“There will compensation. It will be less than the previous board was compensated at,” said Hoffman.

Hoffman said the board chair will receive $50,000 a year plus an honorarium for meetings, which is capped at $3,000 per month.

Linda Hughes will chair the new AHS board and Dr. Brenda Hemmelgarn will vice-chair. Other board members include David Carpenter, Hugh D. Sommerville, Marliss Taylor and Glenda Yeates.

“The board has significant experience in public administration and solid fiscal planning and these tools will be critical to making the system effective in the long-run,” said Hoffman Friday morning.

“I’d like to personally welcome all the board members to Alberta Health Services,” said Vickie Kaminski, CEO and President of AHS in a statement. “Together, we will continue to focus on delivering Albertans the high quality care they deserve.”